Awards presented at 2019 AGGA Garden Party

November 19, 2019
Written by
Held during the 2019 Green Industry Show and Conference in Calgary, the Alberta Greenhouse Growers’ association (AGGA) revealed the winners of their annual awards at their garden party last Thursday night.

Grower of the Year Award
Ornamental: Sharon Stepanick of Brenneis Greenhouse
Vegetable: Dawn Buschart of Shirley’s Greenhouses,
This award is chosen by peers in recognition of their innovation, enterprise, hard work and accomplishments in greenhouse production and retail.

The Meritorious Service Award: Carol Maier of Country Road Greenhouse.
In recognition of their contribution, service and dedication to the Alberta greenhouse industry, this award is typically presented to individuals who have contributed to the industry.
The award was accepted on behalf of Maier by Dietrich Kuhlmann of Kuhlmann's Market Gardens and Greenhouses Ltd.

The Herb Knodel Award: Nellie Simpson of RedHat Co-op
Named after a grower in the Medicine Hat area who began lobbying for greenhouse issues in the 1940s, the Herb Knodel Award is given out to a member for their contributions the industry.

Congratulations to all the winners.

Questions or comments? Email

Subscription Centre

New Subscription
Already a Subscriber
Customer Service
View Digital Magazine Renew

Most Popular

We are using cookies to give you the best experience on our website. By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. To find out more, read our Privacy Policy.