Greenhouse Canada

Awards presented at 2019 AGGA Garden Party

November 19, 2019  By Greta Chiu

Held during the 2019 Green Industry Show and Conference in Calgary, the Alberta Greenhouse Growers’ association (AGGA) revealed the winners of their annual awards at their garden party last Thursday night.

Grower of the Year Award
Ornamentals: Sharon Stepanick of Brenneis Greenhouses
Vegetables: Dawn Buschert of Shirley’s Greenhouse,
This award is chosen by peers in recognition of their innovation, enterprise, hard work and accomplishments in greenhouse production and retail.

The Meritorious Service Award: Carol Maier of Country Road Greenhouses.
In recognition of their contribution, service and dedication to the Alberta greenhouse industry, this award is typically presented to individuals who have contributed to the industry.
The award was accepted on behalf of Maier by Dietrich Kuhlmann of Kuhlmann’s Market Gardens and Greenhouses Ltd.


The Herb Knodel Award: Nellie Simpson of RedHat Co-operative
Named after a grower in the Medicine Hat area who began lobbying for greenhouse issues in the 1940s, the Herb Knodel Award is given out to a member for their contributions the industry.

Congratulations to all the winners.

Print this page


Stories continue below