Greenhouse Canada

Senate to study Foreign Workers Program

October 2, 2018  By Greenhouse Canada

This week, the Senate’s Standing Committee on Agriculture and Forestry will be looking into Canada’s Temporary Foreign Workers Program.

Current program participants and a number of industry stakeholders will be present, including Ontario Vegetable Greenhouse Growers, Canadian Agricultural Human Resource Council and Ken Forth, known for his work on the Seasonal Agricultural Worker Program.

Tuesday, October 2, 2018 (6 p.m. – 8 p.m. ET)

  • Kenneth Elgin Forth, President (Foreign Agricultural Resource Management Services)
  • Keron Headley (As an Individual)
  • Derek Johnstone, Special Assistant to the National President (United Food and Commercial Workers of Canada )
  • Portia MacDonald-Dewhirst, Executive Director (Canadian Agricultural Human Resource Council)
  • Mary Robinson, Chair (Canadian Agricultural Human Resource Council)

Thursday, October 4, 2018

  • Natasha Kim, Director General, Immigration Branch (Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada)
  • Ryan Koeslag, Executive Vice-President and Chief Executive Officer(Canadian Mushroom Growers’ Association)
  • Baerbel Langner, Legal Counsel-Immigration, Past Chair, Canadian Bar Association, National Immigration Section (HyLife)
  • Helene Panagakos, Director, Temporary Resident Program Division, Immigration Program Guidance (Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada)
  • Tom Rosser, Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy Branch(Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada)
  • Justine Taylor, Science & Government Relations Manager (Ontario Greenhouse Vegetable Growers)
  • Marco Valicenti, Director General, Sector Development and Analysis Directorate, Market and Industry Services Branch (Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada)
  • Steven West, Director, Sector policy, Temporary Foreign Worker Program, Skills and Employment Branch (Employment and Social Development Canada )

Click to learn more about the committee

Print this page


Stories continue below