Greenhouse Canada

Ontario announces recipients of Excellence in Agriculture awards

November 6, 2023  By Greenhouse Canada

Nov. 6, 2023 – Through the Excellence in Agriculture program, the Ontario government is celebrating 25 exceptional farmers, food processors, organizations, businesses and Indigenous communities who are driving Ontario’s agriculture and food industry forward.

The Conestoga Food Research and Innovation Lab (CFRIL) at Conestoga College in Waterloo Region is the recipient of the Minister’s Award. CFRIL is an applied research centre that partners with start-up, small, and medium-sized food businesses to solve technical challenges, de-risk equipment, and provide lab testing opportunities, technical skills, and production support from their 8,000- square-foot facility.

This year, the province recognized 14 winners and 11 honourable mentions in agricultural excellence across 11 categories:

  • Excellence in Food Processing
    • The County Bounty Artisanal Soda Co. – Napanee
  • Excellence in Research and Innovation
    • Conestoga Food Research and Innovation Lab (CFRIL) – Waterloo Region
  • Women’s Excellence
    • Loft 32 – Crystal Mackay, Mary Thornley, Brenda Trask – Guelph
  • Youth Excellence
    • Arthur Lin, Lavender Polo Farm – East Gwillimbury
  • Excellence in Agri-Food Education
    • Dr. Rose Buitenhuis, Vineland Research and Innovation Centre – Niagara Region
    • Progressive Dairy – Guelph
  • Northern Business Excellence
    • AgriTech North – Dryden
  • Indigenous-Owned Business or Community Excellence
    • Moose Cree First Nation – James Bay
  • Family Farm Excellence
    • Snyder’s Family Farm Ltd. – Oxford County
    • Everlily Maples Farm – Bancroft
  • Agri-Food Promotional Excellence
    • Rural Agri-Innovation Network (RAIN) – Sault Ste. Marie
    • Eat Local Huron – Huron County
  • Supply Chain Excellence
    • Chicken Farmers of Ontario – Burlington

Print this page


Stories continue below