Greenhouse Canada

New online system sets record for OGVG voter turnout

November 5, 2018  By Greenhouse Canada

Ken Forth, FARMS is honoured as OGVG’s 2018 Industry Builder Award recipient for his leadership and ongoing involvement with the Seasonal Agricultural Worker Program (SAWP) and labour issues on behalf of Canadian growers. Photo credit: OGVG

A new record for voter turnout was set at the 51st Ontario Greenhouse Vegetable Growers (OGVG) annual general meeting this year.

Unveiling a new online voting system, over 80 per cent of eligible voters casted ballots in advance of the AGM that was held on October 23 at Pelee Island Winery.

Three directors were elected for District 1: Paul Mastronardi (Mastron Enterprises Ltd), Rick Mastronardi (I.P.R. Farms Ltd.) and Peter Quiring (Nature Fresh Farms Inc.).


In District 2, Jan VanderHout (Beverly Greenhouses Ltd.) acclaimed one of the two vacancies on the Board.

The newly elected directors are joined by existing directors whose terms continue through to October 31, 2019 to form the 2018-19 OGVG Board of Directors:

· Kevin Safrance (Envirofresh Produce Ltd.) – District 1
· Hilco Tamminga (Truly Green) – District 1
· Bill Heeg (Sun Choice Produce ) – District 2
· Marco Hoogenboom (Hoogenboom Family Farms Inc.) – District 2
· James Neven (Neven Produce Inc.) District 2

Five committee members were also acclaimed in each district. The following committee members will represent their districts for a one-year term ending October 31, 2019.

District 1 Committee
Chris Del Greco (Under Sun Acres)
Dale DiCiocco (DiCiocco Sonny Farms Inc.)
Albert Mastronardi (H&A Mastronardi Farms Ltd.)
Jim Slater (Sunsation Acres)
Rodney Wright (Wright Greenhouses Ltd.)

District 2 Committee 
Ted Berkel Berkel (Greenhouses Inc.)
Trish Fournier (Lake Erie Farms Inc.)
Hardeep Singh (Singh Greenhouses)
Teranjit Singh (eNature Greenhouses)
5th seat – Vacant and TBD

Any vacancies on the OGVG Board of Directors or committees will be appointed according to OGVG policies.

Print this page


Stories continue below