Greenhouse Canada

Cabinet shuffle changes leadership for Ontario agriculture

June 19, 2021  By Greenhouse Canada

The Ontario government announced changes to the provincial cabinet on Friday.

Lisa Thompson. Photo credit: Legislative Assembly of Ontario

Among the changes, Lisa Thompson, MPP for Huron Bruce, has been named Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs.  She replaces Ernie Hardeman in this role.

Previously, Thompson was minister of government and consumer services from 2019 to 2021 and was involved in the recent assessment of the agricultural exemption on agricultural boilers.


Ernie Hardeman. Photo credit: Legislative Assembly of Ontario

Hardeman is the MPP for Oxford. In his most recent term, Hardeman had served as minister of agriculture, food and rural affairs from 2018 until now. He had previously served in the same capacity from 1999 to 2001.

According to the release, cabinet changes also included:

  • Jill Dunlop, MPP for Simcoe North, becomes Minister of Colleges and Universities.
  • Dr. Merrilee Fullerton, MPP for Kanata-Carleton, becomes Minister of Children, Community and Social Services.
  • Parm Gill, MPP for Milton, becomes Minister of Citizenship and Multiculturalism.
  • Rod Phillips, MPP for Ajax, becomes Minister of Long-Term Care.
  • Dave Piccini, MPP for Northumberland-Peterborough South, becomes Minister of the Environment, Conservation and Parks.
  • Greg Rickford, MPP for Kenora-Rainy River, assumes a merged role as Minister of Northern Development, Mines, Natural Resources and Forestry, as well as remains Minister of Indigenous Affairs. This new northern and economic focused ministry will enhance development potential and sustainability in the North. Energy will transfer to a new separate ministry.
  • Todd Smith, MPP for Bay of Quinte, becomes Minister of Energy.
  • Rosario Romano, MPP for Sault Ste. Marie, becomes Minister of Government and Consumer Services.
  • Prabmeet Singh Sarkaria, MPP for Brampton South, becomes President of the Treasury Board.
  • Kinga Surma, MPP for Etobicoke Centre, becomes Minister of Infrastructure.
  • Lisa Thompson, MPP for Huron Bruce, becomes Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs.
  • Stan Cho, MPP for Willowdale, becomes Associate Minister of Transportation, reporting to Minister Mulroney.
  • Jane McKenna, MPP for Burlington, becomes Associate Minister of Children and Women’s Issues, reporting to Minister Fullerton.
  • Nina Tangri, MPP for Mississauga Streetsville, becomes Associate Minister of Small Business and Red Tape Reduction, reporting to Minister Fedeli.
  • Kaleed Rasheed, MPP for Mississauga East-Cooksville, becomes Associate Minister of Digital Government, reporting to Minister Bethlenfalvy.
  • Peter Bethlenfalvy, MPP for Pickering-Uxbridge and Minister of Finance, will assume responsibility for Ontario’s digital government strategy within the Ministry of Finance.


Print this page


Stories continue below