Greenhouse Canada

AgSafe announces new board, retirement of board chair

April 11, 2022  By AgSafe

At AgSafe’s annual general meeting this month, the non-profit agricultural health and safety association in British Columbia announced a new board of directors.

Held April 1, Board Chair, Don Dahr announced his retirement from the board. Dahr, a retired WorkSafeBC Director of Industry and Labour Services (ILS) was selected in 2018 as the Chair of the AgSafe Board of Directors, replacing then retiring chair, Ralph McGinn.

“As a partner with the agriculture industry it’s AgSafe’s mandate to create and help maintain a safe and healthy work environment in B.C.,” says Dahr. “I’m glad that I could do my part and work with a team of amazing, knowledgeable and talented people.”


“Working with Don over the years as a Board member, and as the Board Chair, has been fabulous,” said Wendy Bennett, AgSafe Executive Director. “Don has been supportive and generous in his approach to AgSafe initiatives. AgSafe is in a strong place due in great part to Don’s vision.”

At last year’s AGM AgSafe held the organization’s first ever election for Board directors. This year AgSafe members voted to accept the slate of seven director nominees, including a new representative form Mosaic BC, Hugo Velazquez.

Members of the AgSafe Board of Directors for 2022 include:

  • Andrea van Iterson (Director – Feed Lot Member)
  • Krista Harris (Director – Egg Producer Member)
  • David Nguyen (Director – Mushroom Member)
  • Paula Baxter (Director – Nursery Member)
  • Ajay Randhawa (Director – Young Farmer/Greenhouse Member)
  • Jennifer Ross (Director – Agriculture/Safety Interest )
  • Hugo Velazquez (Director – Worker Representative – Mosaic BC)

AgSafe board members are chosen for their extensive experience in agriculture and/or safety, as well as interest in learning about governance and leadership.

Print this page


Stories continue below