Greenhouse Canada

Achievements honoured at FCO golf tournament

July 10, 2018  By Greenhouse Canada

Andrew Morse and Irwin Smith Flowers Canada (Ontario)

Flowers Canada (Ontario) recently honoured their colleagues’ achievements at their 46th annual golf tournament on June 29 in Fenwick, ON.

Dr. Irwin Smith was this year’s recipient of the ‘FCO Outstanding Contribution to the Industry’ Award. Former executive director of Flowers Canada (Ontario) and Flowers Canada Growers, he’s well-known for his passion for the industry, notes Rachelle Pruss, member relations manager of the same organizations.

Retiring from his role in 2010, Smith was essential in opening dialogue with various levels of government, driving recognition of the greenhouse floriculture industry.


The ‘FCO Lifetime Achievement’ Award went to Rej Picard, who was policy advisor for FCO. As Pruss notes, he was known for his passion for the sector as well as his cheery, yet effective promotion of the industry at all government levels.

Other awards were presented that day for:

Ladies Longest Drive
Judy Colley

Men’s Longest Drive
Tanner Allen

Ladies Closest to the Pin
Kim Edmands

Men’s Closest to the Pin
Jeremy Van Koeveringe

Closest to the Wand
Randy Vermeer

Closest to the Restaurant
Ben Benard

Low Team
Matt Dayaram, Jordan Lubberts, Jamie Buchanan, and Jason Hultink

Low Team (Age over 200)
Jim Jeffery, Sandy Jeffery, Kim Edmands and Barb Jeffery-Gibson

Best of the Rest
Eileen Pillitteri, Bonnie Giampa, Colleen O’Gorman and Molly Horton

All proceeds from the event will be donated to the Cecil Delworth Foundation for floriculture research.

All images courtesy of Flowers Canada (Ontario).

Print this page


Stories continue below